How Professional Bail Works
When a person is arrested and booked for a crime, they must have a first appearance or a bail hearing with a judge or magistrate of the court. Once the arrestee is admitted to bail and a bail amount is set, they may then post bail or hire a Professional Bail Bondsman.
In the State of Arkansas, the fee or premium for writing a Bail Bond is ten percent (10%) of the bond amount. (e.g. a $1,000 Bond would have a $100 premium)
In addition to the ten percent premium, the Professional Bail Bond Company is required to collect $60 in fees.
Finally, the Law Enforcement Agency taking the bond charges a $20 fee.
So, as an example, if a defendant has a $1,000 Bond amount and they hire a Professional Bail Bondsman, it would cost them $180 total.
$1,000 x 10% = $100 Premium
+ $60 Fees
= $160 Total to Bail Bondsman
The Law Enforcement Agency taking the Bond will collect their $20 fee when the Bond is posted.
In certain circumstances, depending on the Bond amount and the charges, providing collateral to secure a bail bond may be necessary.
Once a defendant is released from actual custody on a Professional Bail Bond, both the defendant and their cosigner(s) are financially responsible for the defendant's appearance in court.
*All Bail Amounts are rounded up to the next even $5 mark.
*The minimum compensation for posting a bail bond in the State of Arkansas is $130, including the state fees and Jail Fee.